Percussion Ensemble

The percussion program at Lassiter is comprised of 35 students that perform with the Lassiter Marching Trojans Drumline, three large percussion ensembles, as well as several small chambers groups. All of the percussion Ensembles at Lassiter are extra curricular and rehearse entirely after school. The percussion students at Lassiter are trained in a variety of aspects of percussion and have an opportunity to perform with not only the above ensembles but also in one of four concert bands and a jazz bands.

An Evening of Percussion

Each year “An Evening of Percussion” is held featuring the various percussion ensembles and student soloists along with special guest artists. Some past guest soloists and clinicians for the percussion program include: Tom Aungst, Jack Bell, Michael Burritt, Glen Caruba, Lalo Davila, Lynn Glassock, Thom Hannum, Ralph Hardimon, Scott Herring, Steve Houghton, Jeff Kershner, John Lawless, Tony McCutchen, Chris Moore, John Parks, Raphael Preria, Tom Roady, Charles Settle, Tom Sherwood, Paul Vaillancourt, Bill Wilder, and Mark Yanich.

Special Invitations

The ensemble was invited to perform at the Georgia Music Educators Association In-Service Conference in 2000, 2003, 2008, and 2009. In 2000 and 2002, the ensemble performed at the Bands of America National Percussion Ensemble Festival in Indianapolis, Indiana. In their performance at the 2005 Midwest Band and Orchestra Clinic in Chicago, Illinois they gave the world premier performance of “The Blue Flame Quintet” which was commissioned by the ensemble. The piece was composed by Michael Burritt, who also performed on the selection. In 2007, the percussion ensemble won the Percussive Arts Society’s “call for tapes” competition and performed at The Percussive Arts Society International Convention in Columbus, Ohio.